Orr's Camp Winakawin has been in business since July 8, 1966. "Winakawin" was a name pick by owner Ken Orr and it's meaning is "Peace by the Bay." We are located on quiet Upper Gar Lake, one of the beautiful Iowa Great Lakes Chain. You may travel by boat on these 5 connected lakes....East and West Okoboji, Upper and Lower Gar and Lake Minnewashta. Fish are plentful for the sportsman.
Arnolds Park Amusement park is within walking distance, a walking trail, golfing, historical sites, a summer theatres, restaurants, and shopping areas are conveniently located nearby. Churches of all denomination are within a few miles.
The Orr Family in Arnolds Park
In 1906 Joseph E. & Elizabeth Orr moved with their young daughter Sarah, from Jones County, IA to a farm on Upper Gar just east of Arnolds Park. Four additional children were born in the family farmhouse-Donald, Helen, Kenneth, and Frances.
Elizabeth had been a teacher before her marriage and after Joseph's sudden death, she continued to operate the farm and also sold gravel from the sand pit located on the property.
All five of the Orr children graduated from Arnolds Park High School. The three duaghters become teachers and were later married. After serving in WWII, Don owned and operated a machine shop. He had several patents. Don especially enjoyed repairing the Queen and the Roller Coaster.
Kenneth married Ada Snivel in 1941. With their two daughters Pauline and Julia, they resided in the original farmhouse and continued to farm the land. In 1966 Kenneth and Ada opened Camp Winakawin fulfilling a dream that combined their love of meeting people and their enjoyment of the great outdoors. The campground continues to provide a place for vacationers to discover the beauty of nature and good friendships.
Written by Julia Orr Caesar for the Centennial History of Arnolds Park